• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jaybird

jaybird

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 July 2017 - 06:19 PM

After the scarey flows last fall Im curious how its held up. Any recent reports ? Thanks

#2 Alex Argyros

Alex Argyros

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 05 July 2017 - 08:56 PM

I stayed in Phoenicia for the last week of June and fished the Esopus a lot.  I caught nothing big, but I did catch a lot of trout.  All my fish were caught on nymphs fished deep.

Now, for a question from me.  Since I'm new to the Esopus, I'm not sure about what normal flows are.  When I was there the flows were rather brisk.  Were the flows during the last part of June normal for the Esopus?

#3 WINGNUT

WINGNUT

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 291 posts
  • LocationCornwall NY

Posted 06 July 2017 - 12:06 PM

A friend of mine fished it Thursday night and reported 8 fish in two hours.  All on Sulfur dries.  

#4 PatrickS

PatrickS

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • LocationNW Corner, Conn.

Posted 06 July 2017 - 12:27 PM

I stayed in Phoenicia for the last week of June and fished the Esopus a lot.  I caught nothing big, but I did catch a lot of trout.  All my fish were caught on nymphs fished deep.

Now, for a question from me.  Since I'm new to the Esopus, I'm not sure about what normal flows are.  When I was there the flows were rather brisk.  Were the flows during the last part of June normal for the Esopus?

I wasn't there but was keeping an eye out from afar. Here's the graph for June 20-June 30. Sort of inverse bell curve, with high flows at either end and right around the median in between. So, on the whole, pretty normal.

(Stupid Photobucket. Suddenly they want $399 per year to host photos of fish. By bye.)

vOlnsE.png

Edited by PatrickS, 09 July 2017 - 02:31 PM.

#5 TomLangan

TomLangan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts

Posted 06 July 2017 - 04:55 PM